Inspiration, how the pros do it

I came across this video, by Jamie Titera, who was responsible for a host of combat animations in Disney Infinity.

Watching the whole thing was great, seeing how Jamie has imparted the different characters personality into their attacks.

I found the attack loops for Jack Sparrow, Anna and Elsa to be particularly applicable to my character. You can see them at about 7 min in. I like the way Jack lifts off a little during his swings, and the transitions between attacks into the heavier finishing move.  Anna and Elsa’s attacks are also interesting as Abigail is physically very similar. Their attacks are perhaps more airborne than I want my animations to be however the slam animation at 7.37 is very similar to an attack I would like to create for Abigail.

