Comments and Blogging:Comments and Blogging

During that last 6 weeks we have been cultivating our blogs and growing a community by commenting on each others. At the end of week 6 I had thought that I had contributed to the community by commenting on other peoples posts in a meaningful way, but I had not! Looking back over my comment history I had really only mindlessly liked other peoples posts, and the few comments that I did make were mostly superficial. Liking other posts had tricked me in to thinking I had contributed, but now I will be focusing on commenting with valid reasons and feedback (either warm or cool) whenever I like a post.Thanks to Gaute I now have access most of the blogs from students that I have not worked with before. I will be endeavoring to visit all your blogs. To facilitate this, since most students are using either wordpress or tumblr, I have dug up, and dusted off, up my old wordpress account and will be reblogging and commenting on that platform. Any people not using these platforms have been added to favorites and I will be visiting them manually. I also wanted to put the word out for people I haven’t been able to contact. I’ve come to notice that several people on a few platforms have comments either turned off or moderated. I understand that people would like to moderate the content shown on their blog however the people that I have been able to contact outside of class time were unaware their comment settings were restrictive. With a bit of a google I found that content on wordpress often needs to be approved before its visible to others, this can be changed by following these steps: https://codex.wordpress.org/Comment_ModerationBy default Tumblr turns off commenting again this can be changed in the settings window by following these steps. I hope that by giving each other feedback we can build stronger projects. I understand that any cool feedback, that I receive from any of you, is only intended to help me and my project improve. So I appreciate you taking the time away from your project to do this (even if it means I need to adjust my work) References:Wordpress Comment Moderation. (n.d.). Retrieved from https://codex.wordpress.org/Comment_Moderation

During that last 6 weeks we have been cultivating our blogs and growing a community by commenting on each others. At the end of week 6 I had thought that I had contributed to the community by commenting on other peoples posts in a meaningful way, but I had not! Looking back over my comment history I had really only mindlessly liked other peoples posts, and the few comments that I did make were mostly superficial. Liking other posts had tricked me in to thinking I had contributed, but now I will be focusing on commenting with valid reasons and feedback (either warm or cool) whenever I like a post.

Thanks to Gaute I now have access most of the blogs from students that I have not worked with before. I will be endeavoring to visit all your blogs. To facilitate this, since most students are using either wordpress or tumblr, I have dug up, and dusted off, up my old wordpress account and will be reblogging and commenting on that platform. Any people not using these platforms have been added to favorites and I will be visiting them manually.

I also wanted to put the word out for people I haven’t been able to contact. I’ve come to notice that several people on a few platforms have comments either turned off or moderated.

I understand that people would like to moderate the content shown on their blog however the people that I have been able to contact outside of class time were unaware their comment settings were restrictive. With a bit of a google I found that content on wordpress often needs to be approved before its visible to others, this can be changed by following these steps:

https://codex.wordpress.org/Comment_Moderation

By default Tumblr turns off commenting again this can be changed in the settings window by following these steps.

I hope that by giving each other feedback we can build stronger projects. I understand that any cool feedback, that I receive from any of you, is only intended to help me and my project improve. So I appreciate you taking the time away from your project to do this (even if it means I need to adjust my work)

References:

WordPress Comment Moderation. (n.d.). Retrieved from https://codex.wordpress.org/Comment_Moderation

